What I wish I had known when I was 18. 

Hey everyone! 

First post of 2016. Most of the bloggers have posted their first post of 2016 already. I have been busy with school (passed all the tests I had!! WHATTTT!! And I actually did one without taking my meds before going to school), and my new job. 

At the end of 2015 some things happened. Some might see it as negative. I see it as something super positive. A very wise person(I believe you will meet them on a moment in your life when you need them the most and they will leave when they believe they taught you all) told me that you are the only one to make a situation positive or negative. If you can look at situations in a positive way.. Why would you even think of seeing it in a negative way. It is harder than it sounds. But most of the time, people face things in life and focus on the negative effects. Why can’t we just skip that part, and turn it into something positive? If I could tell my 18 year old self that I could do that, I definetly would. 

Another thing I would tell my 18 year old self would be: “be kind”. When I was 18, I always was the girl that was too nice. People started to overstep my boundaries and if they did, I became furious. The good thing was that I always said that I was thinking to that specific person. The bad thing was that I held a grudge against that person. Learning to let go is one of the hardest things you can do. But when you don’t, your own mind will be poisoned too. Think about getting stressed, or anxiety. Holding a grudge messes with your inner peace. Be humble, and let the pieces fall where they  may. 

The last thing I would want to tell my 18 year old self is: “it is okay to have no idea where you want to go in life”. Honestly, I still don’t know exactly. I admire people who have known for years what their future would have to look like and what they wanted to become when they grow up. I always changed my mind about what I wanted to become. When I was little I wanted to become (of course) a princess. When I was around the age of 7, I wanted to become a doctor. Around the age of 12 I wanted to become an advocate. Around the age of 15 I wanted to become a singer. And from the age of 17 I still didn’t know. So I decided to study something I was interested in. Law. On my 21st I even switched from social law to law. I feel like it was the best decision I have ever made. I feel motivated and that is key for me. Motivation. And of course: peace of mind. 

If you could tell your 18 year old self a few things you know now, what would it be? 

2 gedachtes over “What I wish I had known when I was 18. 

Geef een reactie

